In the state of Massachusetts, talking on the cell phone while driving is still legal as long as you keep one hand on the steering wheel. It is against the law to wear any type of headphones while driving, with the exception of a hands-free accessory for your cell phone. Massachusetts has reviewed several potential bans, but has yet to approve one even though car crashes still happen everyday.
Massachusetts Teen DUI Laws
In the state of Massachusetts, it is a crime for a teen to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.02% or higher. Massachusetts calls this “Zero Tolerance.” A BAC of 0.02% is equal to as little as one beer, one glass of wine or one mixed drink for most people. It can be even less for some. Proof of a BAC of 0.02% is all that is needed to convict a Massachusetts teen of DUI. If you get caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, your license will be suspended. You may also have to enroll in an alcohol treatment and education program, and pay a fine.
The laws for refusing to take a breath test are clear. Under Melanie’s Law, if you are under the age of 21 and you refuse to take a breath test, your license will be automatically suspended for 3 years. In addition, if you get caught drinking and driving and your BAC is 0.20% or higher, in addition to license suspension and possible jail time, you will also have to spend 2 weeks in an alcohol education program. The program must be inpatient, like local search ads for law firms.
Massachusetts Teen Auto Insurance Requirements
In the state of Massachusetts, all drivers – teens or adults, must carry minimum liability coverage of at least 20/40/5. This minimum coverage includes $20,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in any one accident, $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and property damage coverage of $5,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. Massachusetts’ law also requires personal injury protection (PIP) which covers up to $8,000 in medical and work loss expenses, without regard to fault. Truck accident attorneys in Orlando can provide you all kind of legal advocacy in this type of cases.
Because the risk of an auto collision is significantly higher during a teen’s first year behind the wheel without supervision, Massachusetts auto insurance companies recommend purchasing higher amounts of coverage than the legal limits. If you plan to add a teen driver to your policy, keep in mind that your annual rate will increase anywhere from $1,200 to $4,900 a year, with an average of $2,171 a year.
Although auto insurance premiums will increase if you add a teen to your policy or purchasing teen auto insurance will always be pricier than other policies, there are ways to qualify for discounts on teen auto insurance. Auto insurance companies offer discounts ranging from 10-15% or more for:
• Maintaining at least a B average
• Successful completion of a state approved safe driver course
You can also lower your premiums on teen auto insurance if you avoid purchasing sports and luxury cars for your teen, if you opt for a higher deductible, or if you combine insurance policies into one (i.e. life, home, health, renter’s, etc.).