In the state of Iowa, instruction permit holders:
• Must remain accident-free and violation free for 6 consecutive months immediately preceding application for intermediate license
• May only drive with a parent or guardian, immediate family member over 21, driver education teacher, or driver over 25 with written permission from the parent or guardian
Under the laws of the intermediate license, licensees:
• May drive without supervision between the hours of 5 a.m. and 12:30 a.m.
• May not drive unsupervised between the hours of 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. Supervisor must be a parent or guardian, immediate family member over 21, driver education teacher, or driver over 25 with written permission from the parent or guardian
• Must limit the number of passengers to the number of safety belts in the car
• Must drive accident-free and violation free for 12 consecutive months immediately preceding application for full license
Drivers with a waiver may drive between 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. if they are driving to and from work or school-related activities. Up to age 18, all conditions of the intermediate license will remain in effect until the licensee has been issued a full license.
If a teen is involved in a traffic accident or he receives a violation of any of the conditions listed above or other traffic violations, the driver and the driver’s parent or legal guardian will be required to participate in a remedial driver improvement interview with a Department of Transportation official who may impose additional driving restrictions or recommend suspension. If there is an injury, a car accident attorney with Sutliff & Stout may need to be hired.
Iowa Cell Phone Use/Texting While Driving Laws
As of September 2, 2009, there were no laws on record regarding the use of cell phones while driving in the state of Iowa. Several bills banning cell phone use while driving were on the table for 2009, but they all appear to be dead for the year. Iowa has been attempting to ban cell phone use while driving since the late 1990s.
Iowa Teen DUI Laws
In the state of Iowa, it is a crime for a teen to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.02% or higher. A BAC of 0.02% is as little as one beer, one glass of wine or one mixed drink for most people. It can be even less for some. Proof of a BAC of 0.02% is all that is needed to convict an Iowa teen of DUI. If you get caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% your license will be revoked for anywhere from 180 days up to one full year. You will not be able to apply for a restricted license for any purpose for a minimum of 60 days. You will also be required to participate in Iowa’s Youthful Offender Substance Abuse Awareness Program.
Iowa Teen Auto Insurance Requirements
In the state of Iowa, all drivers (teens included) must carry minimum liability coverage of at least 20/40/15, that’s $20,000 bodily injury coverage per person, up to $40,000 bodily injury coverage for all persons per accident, and $15,000 for property damage coverage caused in an at-fault accident.
Because the risk of an auto collision is significantly higher during a teen’s first year behind the wheel and because Iowa follows a Tort system, Iowa auto insurance companies recommend purchasing higher amounts of coverage than the legal limits. If you plan to add a teen driver to your policy, keep in mind that your annual rate will increase anywhere from $1,200 to $4,900 a year – or an average of $2,171 a year.
An increase in your auto insurance premium is inevitable once you add a teen to the policy, but this doesn’t mean you can’t cash in on special discounts designed just for teens. Auto insurance companies offer discounts ranging from 10-15% or more for:
• Maintaining at least a B average
• Successful completion of a state approved safe driver course
You can also lower your premiums on teen auto insurance if you avoid purchasing sports and luxury cars for your teen, if you opt for a higher deductible, or if you combine insurance policies into one (i.e. life, home, health, renter’s, etc.).